What Countries In Europe Are Not Part Of The Schengen Agreement

Andorra is inland and has no airport or seaport, but there are several heliports. Visitors to the country are only accessible by road or helicopter via Schengen members France or Spain. Andorra maintains border controls with France and Spain. There are also border controls in the other direction, but these are more focused on customs control (Andorra is considered a tax haven with 4% VAT). Andorra has no visa requirement. Citizens of EU countries need an identity card or passport to enter Andorra, while everyone else needs a passport or equivalent passport. Schengen visas are accepted,[111] but travelers who need a visa to enter the Schengen area will need a multiple-entry visa to Andorra, as meant by entering Andorra[112] and re-entering France or Spain is considered a new entry into the Schengen area. Andorran citizens do not receive a passport stamp when entering and leaving the Schengen area. [113] The Danish territories of the Faroe Islands and Greenland are not part of either the European Union or the Schengen area, and visas for Denmark are not automatically valid in these territories.

However, both zones do not have border controls on arrival from the Schengen area, and air or sea carriers are responsible for carrying out documentary checks before boarding, as is customary when travelling within the Schengen area. Citizens of EU/EFTA countries can travel to the Faroe Islands and Greenland with a passport or identity card, while citizens of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden can use any acceptable ID (e.B. driver`s license or bank cards, which are discouraged as planes can be diverted to Scotland in fog). [97] [98] The Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom are EU members that have decided not to join the Schengen area. Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia and Cyprus are also EU members that are considering becoming Schengen countries, but are not currently. In response to the European migrant crisis in 2015, several Schengen countries have implemented border controls. Croatia has 990 kilometers (620 miles) of land border and 58 border controls with other EU countries (Slovenia and Hungary). [Citation required] The Schengen Agreement also allows police officers of a participating state to prosecute suspects across borders, both in the context of prosecutions[297] and in the pursuit of observation operations, as well as to improve mutual legal assistance in criminal matters. [298] Participating countries are required to strictly control travellers entering and leaving the Schengen area. These controls are coordinated by the Frontex Agency of the European Union and are subject to common rules.

The details of border controls, surveillance and the conditions under which authorisation to enter the Schengen area may be granted are conclusively defined in the Schengen Borders Code. [168] [169] As the introduction of ETIAS approaches, there is naturally a lot of confusion about what people need to do before visiting Europe. Part of this confusion results from a misunderstanding about which countries belong to the Schengen area, which ones have the ETIAS countries and which ones in the EU. When the Schengen Agreement to abolish border controls was signed by EU countries in 1995, some countries were granted derogations that allowed them not to be part of the free travel area. Other countries that joined the EU at a later date did not join the territory immediately, but could do so in the future. Some states that are not part of the EU have also signed the agreement and have become Schengen states. Spitsbergen belongs to Norway and has a special status under international law. It is not part of the Schengen area. .